It’s a Hat Trick for Indiana Hockey Teams

By  |  0 Comments

When family-friendly activities are hard to come by in the winter, it’s time to hit the ice with one of Indiana’s three professional hockey teams. Indiana hockey encompasses three main teams: the Indy Fuel, Evansville Thunderbolts and Fort Wayne Komets. (The Evansville Thunderbolts are a relatively new team – they replaced the Evansville Icemen in 2016.)  These teams represent the Hoosier State in the rink, starting their seasons in October and skating through April 2019.

Indy Fuel hockey team

Whiteshark Photography

See More: Visit Fort Wayne for Year-Round Fun

Each minor league team is part of the ECHL, the premier AA hockey league, with affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. The Fuel is affiliated with the Chicago Blackhawks, while the Komets are an independent team, with no NHL affiliation.

Embrace Indiana hockey this winter season! To plan your outing, find full schedules for each team at, and

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Due to COVID-19 (coronavirus) precautions and travel advisories, many upcoming events have been canceled or postponed. Please check with local tourism offices and event organizers for the most up-to-date information.
Indiana Dept of Health Updates